Hobby Supplies
Metal Detecting Supplies
Hobby Supplies
Metal Detecting Supplies
Edmonton Radio Control Helicopter Association
March 19, 2024, 06:00:18 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to ERCHA forums

Home   Help Arcade Search Calendar Media Login Register Chat  
Hobby Supplies
Metal Detecting Supplies
Hobby Supplies
Metal Detecting Supplies
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Thinking about my first nitro, looking for tips  (Read 15249 times)
Raymond

View Profile
« on: April 19, 2011, 04:15:56 PM »

Hey guys, I've been flying electric helis for two years and a bit.
I've been wanting to get into something larger than a 450 for a long time and have the chance to do so now. I wanted to stay electric, but it seems anything over a 425mm blade sky rockets in price for batteries and chargers..

So I have been thinking about trying out nitro, it just seems like the economical choice for larger birds, and I have a little experience with nitro from the few years I was into monster trucks.
But i'm still a little stumped on what to get and why.
I've attended one fun fly just to spectate and it seemed like most people were flying raptors vs align. Price? stronger?
I was thinking about a raptor 30 for the price, but people have been advising me to jump straight to a 50 so I have the extra power to grow on so I was thinking about the raptor 50se. Any things to look out for, or warnings?

Also, trying to go into this for as little as possible with out sacrificing too much in reliability, what are some brands of cheaper but still decent starters I should look at that are available in edmonton here?

Thanks, I have more to ask, but I'm just on break and can't think of them now.
rotorsport
ErchaMember

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 02:53:22 AM »